About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
EN

Artificial Eco-Tiles

Do you know how much marine life is nurtured by the seawall along the shore of Hong Kong?

Global urbanisation and climate change have threatened coastal marine ecosystems and the survival of marine organisms. The global academic community is hoping to save the day. A research team led by Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-Yee, Director of State Key Laboratory of Marine Pollution (City University of Hong Kong), has also contributed to a study that has successfully increased the number of coastal species from 19% to 51% and the number of organisms from 59% to 416% fostering the development of biodiversity along the Hong Kong coast. They have developed an ecologically engineered tile (i.e., eco-tile) to reduce the chance of organisms dying due to heat and desiccation stresses driven by strong sunlight. Their research results have been published in international journals, “Marine Pollution Bulletin” and “Global Ecology and Biogeography”, and recognised by the European Union to guide environmental policy.

Continue

Big Match: Artificial seawall construction vs. natural rocky shore

The coast of Hong Kong is full of natural rocky shores but after continuous reclamation, about 16% of the coastline is now built with artificial seawalls. At present, there are two types of artificial seawalls along the coast of Hong Kong, namely vertical seawalls and sloping breakwaters. Do you know the difference between them?

We can see both natural rocky shores and artificial seawalls (e.g. vertical sea walls) in the same water area. The natural rocky shore allows all kinds of intertidal organisms to grow but the intertidal organisms on the seawall are fewer in number, mostly just some barnacles, rock oysters, limpets and woodlouse-like isopods.

One of the enormous differences between man-made seawalls and natural rocky shores is their surface and morphological characteristics. Simply put, natural rocks have eroded due to weathering over millions of years creating uneven surfaces, large and small pools and a variety of holes and crevices that provide habitats for different organisms to cool down, hide, inhabit and forage enriching the food chain and hence promoting biodiversity.

In contrast, the surface structure of a seawall is generally simpler with no shade or water storage area. The biofilm on the wall can be easily dried out and thus the primary food chain is broken, which is not conducive to foraging and living of marine organisms. Therefore, the number of organisms found on artificial seawalls is relatively small.

In the long run, artificial seawalls, which do not possess suitable habitats for marine species, will continue to depress coastal biodiversity. Let’s see how this study addresses this ecological crisis.

prev next
Continue

Lives nourished by Hong Kong’s Oceans

Although Hong Kong is a small city, we have a unique geographical environment. Hong Kong is surrounded by sea on three sides with a total coastline of 1180 km. Studies estimated that there are at least 6,000 species of marine life in Hong Kong waters. Even though Hong Kong’s marine area only accounts for 0.03% of China, its richness in marine species already accounts for 25% of the recorded marine life in the whole of China.

Due to global warming and frequent urban development, different coastal metropolises around the world are facing a similar ecological crisis. Professor Leung led his team to join the World Harbor Project initiated by the Sydney Institute of Marine Science alongside teams from 14 coastal cities around the world, including London, San Francisco and Sydney, each of whom conducted a similar research project in their own cities.

Can we mimic a natural rocky shore? The Birth of the “Ecological Seawall”

Fashion maverick Alexander McQueen once said, “There is no better designer than nature.” As mentioned earlier, natural rocky shores have remained stable for many years but artificial seawalls are not conducive to biodiversity. How can we create artificial conditions to increase biodiversity against all odds?

Professor Leung has a brilliant idea. It’s just like providing a more comfortable shelter for street sleepers; we can add an “ecological” element to the existing artificial seawalls to build a comfortable home for marine life and provide food. An “ecological seawall” is thus created.

The building block of an “ecological seawall” is an eco-tile that combines the principles of “ecology” and “engineering”. The surface of the eco-tile is rough and pitted creating gaps and grooves. The more complex the surface of the eco-tile, the more shades and water storage areas it can provide. This can also lower the temperature of the tile’s surface allowing more species to grow such as sea snails and limpets.

In addition, the research team used a bivalve shellfish planting method. Native rock oysters (also known as Saccostrea cucullata) were planted on behalf of the eco-tiles to increase habitat complexity in a more natural way.

Therefore, the “ecological seawall” made by artificial eco-tiles has become the key to save the ecology of Hong Kong’s coast.

prev next

Amazing discovery!

The research team installed “eco-tiles” on the vertical seawalls of Sham Shui Kok on Lantau Island and Lok On Pai in Tuen Mun for 12 months. The results showed that the “eco-tiles” with gaps increased the number of species by up to 51% with a sharp increase of up to four times the number of organisms! The tiles with oysters attracted new oysters to grow on the tiles providing food for other organisms and forming a healthy ecosystem.

Professor Leung described the results as encouraging: “Even creatures not normally seen on the Hong Kong seawall have appeared!”

Challenge from the sky

While the success of the “eco-block” in enhancing the marine ecosystem is encouraging, the research team found that the results of the test at Sham Shui Kok on Lantau Island were not as good as those of the Tuen Mun Lok On Pai. There are still marine organisms dying on the “eco-tile”.

Why?

It turns out that the test on Lantau Island was defeated by a natural obstacle: sunlight.

Although the “eco-tile” has deep pits, gaps and grooves, and shaded areas, it can still create a slightly cooler environment at low tide. In summer, it can solve the problem of overheating of the existing seawall. However, the location of Sham Shui Kok on Lantau Island is west-facing. In summer, when the tide is low in the afternoon, the sunlight shines directly on the eco-tiles causing the creatures to die from the sun. Therefore, the test also concluded that the orientation and sunlight conditions are the keys to the eco-tile’s cooling performance.

The challenges given by nature once distressed the research team.

Professor Leung recalled that the team often brainstormed and “came up with and made everything that was imaginable”. It then dawned on them that all they had to do was use empathy to figure it out. “If people are afraid of the sun, they will use umbrellas. Marine life needs them too. We finally decided to reverse the “eco-brick” by turning the concave and convex sides inward just like the concept of “living from the front to the back” so that creatures can hide in the shade, shared Professor Leung.

And so, the challenges caused by sunlight was overcome.

An ongoing effort

After the first set of research results, the team hopes to open up more possibilities. With funding and cooperation from the Civil Engineering and Development Department, the research team has conducted a second round of trials of ‘ecological seawalls’ through installation of various ecologically engineered fixtures on artificial seawalls in Ma Liu Shui, Sai Kung and Tuen Mun. Different shapes and complexities of eco-engineered fixtures, such as eco-tiles, eco-panels, tidal pools, armouring units and oyster baskets, were tested whether they could enhance marine biodiversity. The eco-tiles used in this test were designed and manufactured locally and made with waste materials including ashes from the T-Park incinerator in Tuen Mun and dredged marine sediment, which helped reduce waste and create an “eco-seawall” at the same time.

The sites selected for this study belong to different water bodies, including Sai Kung, which is more oceanic; Ma Liu Shui, which is located within a semi-enclosed water body; and Lung Kwu Tan of Tuen Mun, which is located within an estuary. It helped to evaluate the application of “ecological seawall” in different water bodies in Hong Kong.

The team were surprised by the preliminary results of the first nine months of testing. For example, 11 species were recorded on some of the eco-engineered fixtures on the “ecological seawall” at the Ma Liu Shui site which could not be found in the nearby artificial seawall, including seaweeds, coralline algae, crabs and different kinds of gastropods etc. This reflects that the diverse habitats of the “ecological seawall” can help increase biodiversity and promote ecological functions.

Professor Leung emphasised that the test results of the oyster shell baskets were unexpectedly successful and that marine organisms were particularly attracted to oyster shells in the oyster baskets. Such simple oyster baskets could harbour over 60 species of marine organisms. He believes that the habitat of the oyster baskets can protect the young creatures from being eaten by predators like big fish and they can then swim out of the baskets to survive after they grow up forming a healthy ecological chain.

After a lot of effort, the research team successfully created a comfortable home for a variety of marine life. Let’s visit these “marine residents”!

prev next
Continue

Recognition from different sectors

Professor Leung’s research is recognised by both academic and applied science communities. Click below to learn more!

Local Use

Hong Kong’s seawalls can be turned into life-creating breakwater

The “eco-engineering” technology can be applied to all existing seawalls in Hong Kong and can improve the marine ecosystem of Hong Kong’s man-made coast. The third runway system project at the airport, the Tung Chung New Town Extension Project as well as the development of the Integrated Waste Management Facilities in Shek Kwu Chau are the first projects to implement “eco-seawalls”. The research team will play a monitoring, collaborative and advisory role to improve the health of marine ecosystems on these “eco-seawalls”.

International Certification

Hong Kong’s research is recognised worldwide and considered of significance

The research results of the “eco-tile” technology were published in the international scientific journal Marine Pollution Bulletin under the title “A global analysis of complexity–biodiversity relationships on marine artificial structures”. These research article was also selected as a feature in the European Union’s “Science for Environmental Policy”, which serves as a reference for EU environmental policy.

In addition, Professor Leung alongside 45 other international experts have presented a paper on the Global Harbor Research Initiative. The paper has been titled “A Global Analysis of the Relationship between Complexity and Biodiversity of Artificial Ecosystems Installed in the Ocean” and has been published in the scientific journal, “Global Ecology and Biogeography”.

Continue
The Road of Research

“This field (eco-engineering) was not my speciality but fate seems to have chosen me.”

With more than 20 years of experience in environmental toxicology research, Professor Kenneth Leung is also very experienced in marine environmental research, including pollution, ecology, biodiversity, and water quality management. However, the research on eco-engineering of seawall made him a semi-beginner at the start and he has unexpectedly experienced a re-learning and re-growing process.

“I am familiar with the marine ecology of Hong Kong but I am very new to ecological engineering. Ecological engineering brings together the fundamental principles and methods of ecology, engineering and architecture to restore the ecological environment,” he said. In this study, he had to collaborate with engineers and architects across disciplines to achieve the final “ecological seawall”.
“I did not work alone in the process; other people’s expertise also helped me make progress in a step-by-step manner in a virtuous cycle.”

He was pleased to see that young people kept recommending themselves to participate in this research project. “I hope to provide a platform for them to have more practical training opportunities so that they can have better development in the ecological conservation profession just as the Olympic Games features the best of youth globally,” he said. He was particularly pleased that the young team agreed that the study should be done and was worth doing and that it was an unexpected result.

“As scientists, we have to let the data speak for itself, let the facts speak for themselves and hope to change society through rationalisation.”

關於我們 香港研究概覽 研究個案 研究資助計劃 撥款申請小錦囊 就業發展
關於我們 香港研究概覽 研究成就 研究資助計劃 撥款申請小錦囊 就業發展
EN

人工生態磚

你知道,香港岸邊的海堤,孕育多少海洋生物嗎?

全球發展都市化,加上氣候變化影響,威脅沿海海洋生態系統以至海洋生物的生存,全球學術界均希望力挽狂瀾。香港城市大學海洋污染國家重點實驗室主任梁美儀教授率領的研究團隊亦出一分力加入研究,成功令沿海物種增加19%至51%,生物數量亦大幅增加59%至416%,促進香港海岸的生物多樣性發展;更獨創新生態工程瓷磚,減少生物因猛烈陽光帶來的高溫及乾曬而死亡的機會,其研究成果刊登於國際期刊《海洋污染簡報》及《全球生態學及生物地理學》,更獲得歐盟肯定,用以制定其環境政策。

繼續閱讀

大比併:人工海堤築建vs天然岩岸

香港沿海滿布天然岩岸,然而經過持續填海造地,現有約16%海岸線是人工海堤築建。現時香港的海岸主要有兩類人工海堤,分別是垂直海牆和斜式防波堤,你知道它們的分別嗎?

在同一水域上,我們可以同時見到天然岩岸及人工海堤(如:垂直海牆)。天然岩岸有利各式各樣的潮間帶生物生長,然而海牆上的潮間帶生物物種較少,大多只是一些藤壺、石蠔、帽貝和水類似木蝨的等足類動物等。

人工海堤遠遠比不上天然岩岸,其中一個巨大分別在於其表面及形態特點。簡單而言,天然岩石經過百萬年風化侵蝕,形成凹凸不平的表面、大小水池及各式各樣的孔穴和間隙,提供一些生境適合不同生物消暑、躱藏、棲息和覓食,豐富食物鏈和促進生物多樣性。

相對地,一般海牆表面結構較簡單,沒有遮陰或貯水之處,依附表面的海洋生物在水退及烈日下較易被「乾煎」脫水致死。牆上的生物膜亦因此很易被曬乾,導致初級食物鏈被折斷,不利海洋生物覓食和居住。所以,人工海堤上可找到的生物種類和數量均較少。

長此下去,不利海洋物種寄居棲息的人工海堤,會持續令沿海生物多樣性偏低。接下來,看看這研究如何應對此生態危機吧。

prev next
繼續閱讀

滋養生命的香港海洋

彈丸之地的香港,地理環境得天獨厚,三面環海,海岸線總長1180公里,據研究估算,香港海域中有至少6000種海洋生物,即使香港的海洋面積只佔全中國的0.03%,但其海洋生物物種的豐富程度,已佔整個中國所記錄的兩成半。 

全球暖化、都市發展頻繁,全球不同沿海大都會均面對類似的生態危機,梁教授率領團隊加入由悉尼海洋科學研究所發起的「全球海港研究計劃」,與倫敦、三藩市及悉尼等全球14個海岸城市,各自在自家城市進行類似研究,他的團隊遂以提升香港西面水域的海洋生物多樣性為研究目標。



如何媲美天然岩岸?「生態海堤」的誕生

時裝設計師亞歷山大麥昆(Alexander McQueen)曾言:「沒有比大自然更好的設計師。」,正如先前所述,天然岩岸經年月洗禮得天獨厚,人工海堤卻不利生物多樣性,該如何創造人工條件「逆天」增加多樣生物?

梁教授的妙計是:猶如為露宿者提供有瓦遮頭、較舒適的居所,我們可在現有人工海堤加入「生態」元素,為海洋生物建設舒適居所,並提供食物。

「生態海堤」的生態磚結合「生態」與「工程」原理,磚塊表面粗糙且有坑紋,形成罅隙及溝槽,磚塊表面愈複雜,愈能提供較多遮陰及貯水地方,亦可令磚塊表面溫度下降,令螺類及帽貝等更多不同物種在其上生長。

此外,研究團隊以雙殼貝類種植法,在一半的磚上種上本地石蠔(又稱:僧帽牡蠣),以較天然的方法來增加棲地複雜程度。

因此,用人工生態磚築成的「生態海堤」成了挽救香港海岸生態的關鍵。

prev next

驚人發現!

研究團隊於大嶼山深水角及屯門樂安排的垂直海堤上安裝「生態磚」,測試12個月,結果發現,有罅隙的「生態磚」增加最多51%的物種,生物數量急增高達4倍!種有石蠔的磚塊吸引了新的石蠔在磚上生長,為其他生物提供食物,形成健康的生態系統。

梁教授形容結果令鼓舞:「連平常在香港海堤看不見的生物也出現了!」

天降的挑戰

「生態磚」成功提升海洋生態環境的成績固然令人振奮,但研究團隊發現,位處大嶼山深水角的測試結果卻不如屯門樂安排,依然有海洋生物會死在「生態磚」上 ,原因何在?

原來大嶼山的測試敗給了天生的障礙:日照。

雖然「生態磚」有深坑紋、罅隙及溝槽,並有陰暗部位,於潮退及夏天時仍可製造溫度稍低的環境,解決現有海堤過熱的問題。然而大嶼山深水角的位置正向「西斜」,在夏天午間潮退時,陽光直接照射到磚上,結果仍避免不了生物曬死。故今次測試亦得出了另一結論:座向及日照情況是影響海堤降溫表現的關鍵。

大自然給予的挑戰一度令研究團隊苦惱,梁教授憶述,團隊經常集思廣益腦震盪一番,「甚麼天馬行空的都想出來、做出來」,後來赫然發現,只需用同理心就想出辦法:「人怕曬就會打傘,海洋生物亦需要,我們最後決定將『生態磚』反轉,將凹凸面向內,有如「前舖後居」的概念,生物就可躲在內遮蔭了!」

就這樣,太陽的挑戰也過關了。

再下一城

初嘗研究成果,團隊希望開創更多可能。得到土木工程拓展署資助及合作下,研究團隊於馬料水、西貢及屯門的人工海堤上安裝人工生態組件作第二輪測試,嘗試用不同形態及複雜程度的「生態海堤」試驗效果,包括生態磚、面板、潮汐池、鎧裝組件及蠔殼籃等。 而這次測試用的生態磚是本地設計及製造,並以屯門T-Park焚化爐棄置的灰燼及海洋沉積物再造而成,,既減廢環保又能打造「生態海堤」,一舉兩得。

今次研究的選址屬於不同水體,包括屬於海洋的西貢、位於半封閉水體中的馬料水和位處河口的屯門龍鼓,有助同時評估「生態海堤」在香港不同水體的應用發展。

團隊發現,首九個月測試的初步結果已有驚喜,以馬料水為例,在部分不同形態的人工生態組件上錄得11種生物物種,是附近人工海堤上找不到的,包括海藻、珊瑚藻、蟹和不同種類的螺等,反映「生態海堤」的多元化生境,亦有助增加生物多樣、促進生態功能。

梁教授特別強調,蠔殼籃的測試效果是意想不到的成功,海洋生物特別喜於依附在籃中的蠔殼上,簡單的設置竟能孕育出多達60多種不同海洋生物。他認為,蠔籃的生境能保護幼細生物,令牠們不會被外面的捕食者如大魚吃掉,成長後又可游出籃外繼續生存,形成健康的生態鏈。

研究團隊經過一番努力,成功為多種海洋生物締造了一個個安樂窩。一起探訪這些「海洋住客」吧!

prev next
繼續閱讀

各界認可

梁教授的研究不論在學術或應用上,均得到外間認同。點擊以下內容,了解更多!

本地認用

「香港的海堤,可變成創造生命的防波堤!」

「生態工程」技術可應用於香港現有所有海堤,能改善香港人造海岸的海洋生態系統。機場第三條跑道系統工程、東涌東新市鎮擴展近岸填海工程以及石鼓洲綜合廢物管理設施工程,率先引入「生態海堤」,研究團隊將於其中擔任監察、合作及顧問等角色,改善在海堤上的海洋生態系統健康。

國際認證

「香港的研究得到世界認同,而且覺得重要!」

「生態磚」技術研究成果以《提供庇護棲地及種植本土雙殼貝類可提高垂直海堤的生物多樣性》為題,於國際科學期刊《海洋污染簡報》發表。這研究文章亦被歐盟 《環境政策科學》揀選及刊載為專題文章,成為歐盟環境政策的參考依據。

此外,梁教授聯同其他45位國際專家共同就「全球海港研究計劃」發表的論文,題為《關於在海洋設置人工生態組件複雜性與生物多樣性關係的全球研究分析》,已刊於科學期刊《全球生態和生物地理》。

繼續閱讀
研究之路

「這一領域(生態工程)本來不是我的專長,但命運好像選擇了我。」

從事環境毒理學研究逾二十年的梁美儀教授,同時對海洋環境研究,包括污染、生態、 生物多樣性、水質管理等甚有經驗。然而,今次有關工程生態海堤研究最初卻讓他成為半個新手,亦意外地經歷一次重新學習、再成長的歷程。

「我對香港海洋生態很熟悉,但對生態工程卻很陌生。」生態工程集合生態學、工程學和建築學等學科的基本原理與方法,致力修復生態環境。今次研究中,他需要與工程人員及建築師跨專業合作,利用各方專長成就最終的「生態海堤」:「過程中自己並非單打獨鬥,他人的專業同時成就自己進步,一步一級、有如成長之路」。

令他欣喜的是,研究過程中不斷見有年輕人員自薦加入參與,「後生仔想法好好,好有創意,我亦希望提供平台給他們更多實戰訓練機會,使他們在生態保育專業有更好發展,正如奧運也主要是後生仔的天地。」他特感欣慰的,是年輕團隊亦認同今次研究是應該做、值得做,這是研究意料不及的成果。

「作為科學家,我們要讓數據說話、讓事實說話,希望以理性,改變社會。」