About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
About Us General Research Landscape Research Cases Research Funding Schemes Common Tips for Application Career Development
EN

eDNA Tracking Method

DNA tracking method - a new way to save endangered turtles

Nature pays the price for continuous human development. According to the World Wide Fund for Nature, global animal populations have dropped by nearly 70% over the past 50 years. Hence, conservation work is urgently needed to make up for the loss.

Although Hong Kong is a developed city, rare and endangered animals persist here. Lingnan University Science Unit Associate Professor Jonathan Fong and his team have introduced DNA-based methods to study and conserve endangered animals.

Continue
The crisis turtles facing

In Asian societies, tortoises and freshwater turtles are often used as food, traditional medicine, decorations, and pets . Since turtles have a relatively low reproduction rate , intense hunting for these uses threatens them with extinction.

Moreover, turtles have also become the victims in Asia’s illegal markets. In the pet market, wild individuals of rare species can be worth up to HKD$10,000. Some people use turtles as their wealth-flaunting tools, while some animal traders breed turtles for great profits.

Asian turtle species are in danger of going extinct. We should act now to save them.

Continue
Conservation of Hong Kong’s native freshwater turtles

Although Hong Kong is sometimes referred to as a concrete jungle, it is also blessed with a large area of protected country parks. The natural features, such as the presence and abundance of rivers, swamps, and islands, facilitate the high diversity of living organisms.

In Hong Kong, there are five native turtle species, namely the Reeves’ turtle, Chinese three-lined box turtle, Beale’s-eyed turtle, Chinese softshell turtle, and big-headed turtle.

Let’s find out more about them through the pictures below.

In addition to hunting and trafficking, Hong Kong turtles are also threatened by exotic turtle species (e.g., red-eared slider; Trachemys scripta elegans). These exotic turtles are released into nature usually from Buddhist release or discarding of unwanted pets. They compete with local species for resources and damages the ecosystem. As a result, the populations of local turtle species continue to shrink.

Beale’s turtle and big-headed turtle are relatively long lived. However, due to their long reproductive cycles and the abovementioned threats, they are listed as endangered and critically endangered in the Red List of Threatened Species by the International Union for Conservation of Nature. This highlights their risk of extinction. Despite their rarity, both species can be found in Hong Kong, which provides Professor Fong and his research team a special opportunity to study and protect them.

Traditional Methods

The first step to studying freshwater turtles is to locate them. Traditionally, this is done by trapping, which is time-consuming, exhausting, and sometimes dangerous for researchers. Trapping is a two-day event that takes advantage of turtles being more active at night, coming out to look for food and mates. On the first day, researchers hike along streams and place baited traps into the water, then return the next day to collect traps and any turtles. Due to the long and bumpy routes, they only lay traps in 1–2 locations each trip. All this hard work does not guarantee success in trapping turtles. While searching for turtles in Guangdong Province, Professor Fong and colleagues spent one month putting out traps and only caught four turtles.

To more effectively find and study Hong Kong’s wild freshwater turtles, Professor Fong’s research team developed and tested a new method to aid in finding turtles that centers around environmental DNA (eDNA).

eDNA as evidence for the survival of Hong Kong turtles

Crime movies often show how even when a criminal is not captured at the crime scene, circumstantial evidence can help solve the crime. The same applies to the research on Hong Kong’s wild turtles. Organisms leave evidence of their presence in the environment through the DNA in shed cells, such as skin, gametes, feces, and blood. This DNA is called Environmental DNA.

Environmental DNA is also called eDNA. Living organisms release cells that contain DNA into our environment, such as air, water and soil. Through eDNA, we can extract DNA from environmental samples such as soil, water and air instead of extracting DNA directly from the body. Foreign studies have also proved that eDNA helps to find a variety of aquatic vertebrates, including turtles.

When the research team arrives at a site, they collect 1 L of water in a sterile container, which is filtered in the field or back at the laboratory. Then, the eDNA is amplified using a quantitative PCR (qPCR) technique. This eDNA technique can be used to identify the diversity of organisms (such as plants, fungi, animals, and bacteria) in the water. In the right conditions, even the number of individuals can be estimated.

eDNA methods enable us to study organisms without seeing them. This is important for rare and secretive species. However, eDNA methods do not solve everything. Many research projects still require organisms to be captured to study. eDNA methods can be used to quickly and efficiently evaluate the probability of organisms existing at a site, increasing the chances of traditional trapping methods.

Turtle evolution and genetics

Another important part of conservation is to identify and delineate each species. We can use DNA to estimate how closely related two individuals are, and whether they are different species. Another project of Professor Fong and his team is to study the genetics of Hong Kong species, especially amphibians and reptiles. For example, the big-headed turtle is found in China, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Thailand, and Myanmar. By using DNA data, we can see how similar populations are from the different countries. If different, we will need to work hard to conserve all populations.

This work is being done in collaboration with his Lingnan University colleague, Assistant Professor Yik Hei Sung. Professor Sung has studied the ecology of Hong Kong turtles for almost 10 years. During this time, he has collected hundreds of tissue samples that can be used for DNA studies. The DNA is extracted from the cells and can be sequenced then compared between individuals. To get samples from other countries, Professors Fong and Sung are collaborating with other turtle researchers in Southeast Asia, as well as using samples from museum specimens in natural history collections around the world. For these studies, they have collected hundreds of samples.

This research has several of practical conservation uses. First, this work can help identify the origin of smuggled animals, so that they can be returned to the proper country. Also, many endangered species are bred in captivity, so that they can be released back into the wild in the future. DNA data can help identify which individuals to breed together to maintain a healthy population. Lastly, sometimes a population is identified as being so different that we need to recognize a new species.

Research Progress

Through their eDNA research, the team hopes to learn about the diversity of Hong Kong’s freshwater turtles as well as understand the distribution of exotic turtle populations. The team successfully developed eDNA methods to locate two local turtle species (big-headed turtle and Chinese softshell turtle) and one exotic species (red-eared slider).

The red-eared slider, a native species of North America, is no stranger to Hong Kong residents. It is an omnivorous animal with strong adaptability to new environments, and often competes with native species for resources. Due to the release of unwanted pets and Buddhist release, local Hong Kong habitats have been invaded by the red-eared slider. Local species are likely affected negatively by competition with the red-eared slider. Professor Fong and his team used eDNA to track the distribution of red-eared slider to evaluate the harm they have brought to the native turtles.

In addition, the team collected water and soil samples from more than 40 rivers and lakes in Hong Kong four times a year, for three years. By comparing the results, they hope to understand how different seasons and variables in the environment affect the preservation of eDNA in water. By 2021, more than 500 samples had been collected for this research.

Citizen science for all

The preservation of eDNA in water is affected by temperature, pH, and water velocity. For example, warmer temperatures and lower pH will cause DNA to degrade, reducing its presence in the water. Despite limitations to eDNA methods, one of its advantages is that one doesn’t need to be a researcher to collect eDNA samples. Everyone can do their part and contribute to the research. Incorporating non-scientists in the research process is called citizen science.

The team incorporated citizen science in this turtle eDNA study to aid the research and promote science research to the general public. Professor Fong invited university undergraduates and the elderly to take part in sample collection, providing them with necessary tools such as containers, thermometers, and pH detectors. The participants attended training workshops and collected water samples to be used in the study. Their contributions contributed to the project’s success.

prev next
Continue

Using eDNA helps facilitate the tracking of turtles which is vital for future conservation efforts. Click to understand more about the significance of eDNA!

Data sharing

The research team and the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department share the location data of wild turtle populations obtained through eDNA so that authorities can better monitor the living conditions of turtle species and even prevent illegal hunting.

Saving smuggled turtles

Using DNA, the research team hopes to identify the origin of smuggled animals so they can be returned to their natural habitat.

Conservation of other species

Although the research only targeted turtles, it has helped in the understanding and promoting animal conservation.

Community education

During the research, students were trained to promote conservation. Through observing wild turtles in country parks, it helped increase their awareness of the importance of conservation.

Continue
Research journey

Professor Fong specialises in research on the evolution and ecology of amphibians and reptiles, including the unique Romer’s tree frog in Hong Kong. He successfully built a Natural History Collection of Hong Kong’s amphibians and reptiles, which has over 550 specimens. These specimens are an important resource for research and public education. Watch the video to learn more about his ambition as a researcher.

Continue

Encouragement to researcher

Growing up in the United States, Professor Jonathan Fong's curiosity about nature, fostered by his parents and teachers, led him to become a scientist who promotes conservation.

Research success is a team effort and depends on collaborations with government officials, NGOs, and other scientists. Additionally, the research involves hiring and training students. As other mentors did for him, Professor Fong’s hopes give opportunities to young scientists to explore their interests and pursue a career in the field. To his delight, several of his research assistants have chosen to pursue careers in science and have continued their postgraduate studies in biology.

Professor Fong believes that although enjoyable, research can be difficult, "If it were easy, someone would have done it already!” His interest and motivation to understand the natural world, as well as make an impact to society, drives him to solve these problems. For anyone who is interested in research, he said “Scientific research is never perfect, problems will always arise, and scientific research is about learning from your mistakes. The research journey may be solitary but not isolated, and generations of scientists continue to build on past research in the hope of benefiting future generations. As researchers, we should never forget to enjoy the present.”

關於我們 香港研究概覽 研究個案 研究資助計劃 撥款申請小錦囊 就業發展
關於我們 香港研究概覽 研究成就 研究資助計劃 撥款申請小錦囊 就業發展
EN

DNA龜蹤鑑證

DNA龜蹤鑑證--- 拯救瀕危新出路

隨著人類社會發展,大自然亦不斷付出代價。世界自然基金會指出,過去半世紀,全球動物數量平均下降近七成。因此,相關的保育工作必須加快、彌補損失。

雖然香港是發達社會,但亦有不少稀有和瀕臨絕種的動物存留。嶺南大學科學教研組副教授方健恩的研究團隊利用以DNA鑑證為基礎的技術,研究及保育瀕危生物。

繼續閱讀
龜類面臨的危機

在亞洲社會,陸龜與淡水龜常用於食用、傳統藥材、裝飾品和寵物等用途。由於龜類的繁殖率偏低,過度捕獵龜類作以上用途為牠們的生存帶來最嚴重的威脅。

此外,龜亦是亞洲非法貿易市場的受害者。在寵物市場,一些稀有品種的野生龜價值可高達數萬港元,成為部分人的炫富工具。亦有商人用作配種,使牠們變成搖錢樹。

亞洲龜類面對生存危機,部分更有滅絕可能,拯救刻不容緩。

繼續閱讀
保育香港原生淡水龜

香港雖然是「石屎森林」,猶幸有一大片受保育的郊野公園作城市後花園,亦有不同河溪、沼澤,且由許多島嶼組成,這些天然因素有助維持高生物多樣性。

香港共有5 種原生品種淡水龜 ,分別為:烏龜、三綫閉殼龜/金錢龜、眼斑水龜、水魚、平胸龜/大頭龜/鷹嘴龜。點擊以下圖片逐一認識牠們吧!

除了不法之徒的濫捕販賣外,香港的龜類亦面臨外來品種的威脅,如:紅耳龜 (Trachemys scripta elegans)。牠們多因宗教放生或棄養而被放到大自然,與本地品種爭奪資源,破壞生態平衡,結果令原生品種的數量逐漸衰減。

雖然眼斑水龜和大頭龜頗為長壽,但由於繁殖周期漫長以及上述威脅,牠們已被國際自然保護聯盟列入為瀕危物種紅色名錄,屬「瀕危」及「嚴重瀕危」級別,反映了牠們面臨絕種的風險。雖然這兩種龜類非常罕有,但香港難得地能同時發現牠們的踪影,為方教授和他的團隊製造了特別的機會,研究並找出保護牠們的方法。

傳統研究方法

研究香港野生淡水龜的第一步是先找到它們。以往的尋找方法是「放籠捉龜」,但這方法既費時,又疲累,有時更會為研究人員帶來危險。「放籠捉龜」需時兩天,是一個利用龜類作為夜行動物,習慣於晚上尋找食物和同伴的特點來捉龜的方法。第一天,研究人員在山澗溪流附近遠足並將放有誘餌的捉龜籠放入水中,第二日再折返並收集龜籠和烏龜。由於路程長又崎嶇,他們每趟只能在一至兩個地點設籠。這一切勞碌的工作並不保證能夠成功捉龜。曾經,方教授和他的同事用了一個月時間在廣東省放置龜籠,最後只捉到四隻。

為了更有效地尋找和研究香港的野生淡水龜,方教授的研究團隊開發並試驗了一項以環境DNA為主軸的全新方法,協助找尋龜類。

環境DNA---香港龜生存的證據

刑事偵緝題材的電影經常強調,即使不能在罪案現場就地緝拿兇手,環境證供有助追尋真相。同樣道理亦可應用於香港野生龜種群的研究。生物會在環境留下基因,例如皮膚、配子、糞便、血液等,能證明牠們曾經出現過。這稱為「環境DNA」。

「環境DNA」, 簡稱eDNA。我們周遭的環境(如:空氣、水、土壤)都存在著不同生物釋出的細胞,當中就包含其DNA。「環境DNA」就是指可從土壤、河水甚至空氣等各種環境樣本中收集生物DNA,而非從生物身體直接取摘樣本。外國的研究亦證明,「環境DNA」有助尋找包括龜在內的多種水生脊椎動物。

研究團隊到達現場後,他們會收集一公升水樣本放入無菌容器中,即場或待回到實驗室後過濾水樣本,然後透過聚合酶鏈鎖反應技術將 eDNA放大。eDNA技術可以用來找出水中的有機體多樣性,例如植物、真菌、動物、細菌。在合適的條件下,甚至可以估計每種有機體的數量。

即使看不見該生物,我們能透過eDNA研究牠們。這對於研究罕有和行蹤神秘的物種非常重要,不過eDNA並不能解決所有問題,很多研究仍然需要捕捉到生物才能進行。我們可以透過eDNA快速和有效率地分析生物在某個地方出現過的機率,從而提升傳統放籠捉龜的成功機會。

龜的進化和基因

保育工作的另一重點是識別每個物種。我們可以透過DNA估算兩個不同生物的親緣關係,以及他們是否是不同的物種。 方教授和他的團隊的另一個項目是研究香港物種的遺傳學,特別是兩棲動物和爬行動物。 例如,大頭龜分佈於中國、越南、老撾、柬埔寨、泰國和緬甸。 通過使用 DNA 數據,我們可以了解物種在不同國家的數量是否相近。 如果數量不同,我們則需要努力保護所有種群的數量。

這項工作是與方教援與同屬嶺南大學的宋亦希助理教授合作完成。宋教授研究香港龜的生態近10年。在此期間,他收集了數百個可用於 DNA 研究的組織樣本, 從細胞中提取 DNA 並測定其序列,然後比較每個有機體。為了從其他國家獲取樣本,方教授和宋教授正與東南亞的其他龜類研究人員合作,並使用世界各地博物館收藏的標本樣本,他們共收集了數百個樣本用於這些研究。

這項研究有幾個實際的保育用途。 首先,可以協助確定走私動物的來源,讓牠們返回自己的國家。 此外,許多瀕臨滅絕物種都是人工飼養的,往後可以將牠們釋放回野外。DNA 數據亦可以幫助確定哪些物種可以一起繁殖,以維持健康的種群。而當某些種群被判斷為「非常不同」,研究人員便需要識別一個新物種。

研究進展

團隊希望透過eDNA研究,了解香港的淡水龜和外來龜類種群的分佈。經過連番努力,研究團隊已成功發展「環境DNA」技術,並找到兩種本土龜類:大頭龜和中華鱉,及一個外本品種:紅耳龜的行踪。

港人熟悉的紅耳龜為北美洲原生品種。牠們是雜食性動物,適應新環境的能力很強,經常與本土物種競爭生存空間。由於棄養寵物和佛教放生,香港的棲息地已經被紅耳龜入侵。本地物種有機會因與紅耳龜競爭而受到負面影響。方教授和他的研究團隊使用「環境 DNA」追踪紅耳龜散布情況, 了解牠們對本地品種所造成的影響。

此外,團隊連續三年,每年四次收集了香港近40個河流及湖泊四季的水和泥土樣本。團隊希望邊個對比結果,了解不同季節和變化的環境因素如何影響eDNA在水中留存的情況。至2021年,團隊已覓得超過500個樣本用於此研究。

公民科學 人人參與

「環境DNA」在水中留存的狀況會受溫度、酸鹼度和水流速度影響。高溫和低酸鹼度會令DNA受損,減低它們出現在水中的機會。雖然「環境DNA」技術有局限,但其優點之一就是普羅市民也能收集樣本,為研究作貢獻。於研究中加入非科學家的大眾參與,稱為「公民科學」。

研究團隊將「公民科學」理念帶入是次龜類eDNA技術研究,協助研究同時,將科研推廣給普羅大眾。方教授特別廣邀大學生和長者參與樣本收集,並向他們提供專用容器和溫度酸鹼度檢測儀。參與者接受訓練後,便能收集水樣本用於研究。他們的貢獻亦促使了研究計劃的成功。

prev next
繼續閱讀

應用「環境DNA」更有效快捷地整理香港野生淡水龜種群的行動軌跡,點撃以下字詞逐一了解「環境DNA」的重要性吧!

數據共用

研究團隊與漁農自然護理署共享透過「環境DNA」得來的野生種群位置數據,以便當局可更好地監察龜種生活狀況,防止非法狩獵行為。

拯救走私龜

團隊期望通過DNA識別走私動物的來源地,並協助牠們返回自己所屬的自然生態環境。

保育其他物種

是次研究雖然集中於龜類,若果我們能夠保育龜類及其生境,生活在同類環境的其他物種亦可從中得益,更有助於使郊野公園的棲息地保持自然。

社區教育

研究計劃亦培訓學生作公眾保育宣傳工作。學生與公眾一同實地考察,透過觀察野生龜在郊野公園內的活動,培養保育意識。

繼續閱讀
研究之路

領導研究團隊的方教授,主力研究亞洲兩棲動物和爬行動物的進化和生態,包括香港獨有的盧文氏樹蛙。方教授成功建立香港兩棲動物自然歷史庫,收藏逾超過550 個兩棲及爬行類動物樣本。一齊了解他作為研究員的抱負:

繼續閱讀

共勉

於美國成長的方健恩教授,在父母及師長鼓勵下,培養出對大自然的好奇心,促成他成為推動保育的科學家。

研究的成功是團隊努力的成果,並取決於政府官員、非政府組織和其他科學家的合作。此外,研究還涉及聘請和培訓學生。像方教授的導師一樣,方教授希望為年輕科學家提供機會,讓他們探索興趣並於該從領域展開事業。令他高興的是,他的幾位研究助理都選擇從事科學行業,並繼續修讀生物學研究生課程。

研究工作雖令人陶醉,但也會有困難的時候。「如容易早就有人做了!」推動他解決難題的正是自己對工作的興趣與動力,以及影響社會的渴望。他寄語有意投身研究的年輕人:「科學研究永不會完美,問題依舊會出現,科學研究正是要從錯誤中學習。研究旅程可能是孤獨卻不孤立,一代又一代的科學家在過去的研究基礎上繼續創新,期望造福後代。作為研究員,應不忘享受當下。」